FABSR was established on 12 October 1995 at the First Conference of Architects of the Black Sea Region by the authorized representatives of the National Organizations of Architects from the Black Sea Region countries – Azerbaijan, Georgia, Russia, Romania, Turkey and the Ukraine. After the joining of Armenia, Bulgaria and Greece to FABSR, now FABSR has 9 members.

FABSR is open to welcome all professional organizations covered by the enlarged definition of the Black Sea basin to become the members.

FABSR is an international non-political, voluntary public organization. As such FABSR shall act at the national, regional and international levels, participate in other international organizations and events.